Jayaraman, N., 2017, "Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Conferring Molecular Machines as Engines of Creativity", *Resonance*, 747 – 756.

Year 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry is conferred on three organic chemists, Jean Pierre-Sauvage, J. F. Stoddart and Ben Feringa, who share the Prize for their sphere-heading a new area of chemistry that converges the ideas of molecular synthesis with the principles operating in materials and biology. The trio has contributed immensely in the past 2-3 decades to establish a new direction that rely on exploiting the forces, in the form of chemical energy, in order to conduct a work at the expense of the energy, and the work being conducted at the molecular level, the tiniest possible machine measuring few nanometers in a length scale.